A sign outside the Zedekiah's Cave which is also known as Solomon's Quarries

A sign outside the Zedekiah's Cave which is also known as Solomon's Quarries

Entry door of the Zedekiah's Cave - It is located very close to the Damascus Gate

Entry door of the Zedekiah's Cave - It is located very close to the Damascus Gate

A notice board beside the entrance

A notice board beside the entrance

Entry to the cave which goes back about 1,000 feet under the northern Old City wall,

Entry to the cave which goes back about 1,000 feet under the northern Old City wall,

There were very few visitors on this site which covers almost 5-acre

There were very few visitors on this site which covers almost 5-acre

Left side of the cave - This cave is about 2,000 years old if  legends are to believed then it is 2,600 years old

Left side of the cave - This cave is about 2,000 years old if legends are to believed then it is 2,600 years old

A standing pillar for support in the midlle of the cave

A standing pillar for support in the midlle of the cave

It is believed that Herod used stones from this quarry to build the second temple and it's walls

It is believed that Herod used stones from this quarry to build the second temple and it's walls

Chisel marks on walls - Suleiman the Magnificent, the Ottoman sultan also used stones from this quarry to build the present walls around the Old City

Chisel marks on walls - Suleiman the Magnificent, the Ottoman sultan also used stones from this quarry to build the present walls around the Old City

Main cave leads into many smaller and deeper mining caves

Main cave leads into many smaller and deeper mining caves

Cave was well lit but very slippery and humid

Cave was well lit but very slippery and humid

A little spring inside the cave is known as “Zedekiah’s tears

A little spring inside the cave is known as “Zedekiah’s tears" because Zedekiah his here to escape the Babylonian King Nebuchadnezzar

A sign beisde the Zedekiah’s Tears to warn visitors not to drink this water

A sign beisde the Zedekiah’s Tears to warn visitors not to drink this water

Some parts of the cave were more elaborate than others

Some parts of the cave were more elaborate than others

Graffiti on the walls of the cave - Some people don't know how to respect the history

Graffiti on the walls of the cave - Some people don't know how to respect the history

This small entrance leads to more open mining area

This small entrance leads to more open mining area

A beautiful view inside the cave

A beautiful view inside the cave

A big stone hanging inside the Zedekiah's Cave

A big stone hanging inside the Zedekiah's Cave

Some parts of the cave have different shape and sizes of the stones left attached

Some parts of the cave have different shape and sizes of the stones left attached

Close up of the wall of the Zedekiah's Cave

Close up of the wall of the Zedekiah's Cave

Entering the Freemason's Hall

Entering the Freemason's Hall

In 1868, the first meeting of Freemasons was held by candlelight in Zedekiah’s Cave

In 1868, the first meeting of Freemasons was held by candlelight in Zedekiah’s Cave

Exit from the Zedekiah's Cave and looking out to the main road

Exit from the Zedekiah's Cave and looking out to the main road