Amoeira aqueduct are situated just outside the town of Elvas - here N4 passes beside the aqueducts

Amoeira aqueduct are situated just outside the town of Elvas - here N4 passes beside the aqueducts

N372 road passes under the arches of the aqueducts, it took nearly 100 years to build this structure

N372 road passes under the arches of the aqueducts, it took nearly 100 years to build this structure

This section (beside N4) offers one of the best views of the aqueducts

This section (beside N4) offers one of the best views of the aqueducts

These aqueducts start 7km west of town to bring water to the marble fountain in Largo da Misericordia

These aqueducts start 7km west of town to bring water to the marble fountain in Largo da Misericordia

The aqueduct has a length of 7,054 metres from its spring in the Serra do Bispo until the Chafariz do Jardim, and another 450 metres to the town fountain

The aqueduct has a length of 7,054 metres from its spring in the Serra do Bispo until the Chafariz do Jardim, and another 450 metres to the town fountain

Amoeira Aqueducts were built to bring more water to the town because previous source of water (beside the Porta do Bispo) had dried up

Amoeira Aqueducts were built to bring more water to the town because previous source of water (beside the Porta do Bispo) had dried up

The construction of these aqueducts started in 1529 and finished in 1622

The construction of these aqueducts started in 1529 and finished in 1622

In total, there are 833 arches supported by rectangular pillars and strengthened by semi-circular and pyramidal buttresses

In total, there are 833 arches supported by rectangular pillars and strengthened by semi-circular and pyramidal buttresses

This amazing aqueduct, classified as World Heritage Site since 1910

This amazing aqueduct, classified as World Heritage Site since 1910

Modern buildings (petrol station) next to the Amoeira aqueducts

Modern buildings (petrol station) next to the Amoeira aqueducts

This photo was taken while walking towards the town of Elvas

This photo was taken while walking towards the town of Elvas

An aerial view of the aquedcuts, seen from the top of the Fernandina Tower

An aerial view of the aquedcuts, seen from the top of the Fernandina Tower

Amoeira aqueduct seen at night

Amoeira aqueduct seen at night

English barracks situated at Rua do Quarteis da Corujeira, next to the British Cemetery

English barracks situated at Rua do Quarteis da Corujeira, next to the British Cemetery

These barracks were used by the English soldiers while fighting against the Napoleonic soldiers

These barracks were used by the English soldiers while fighting against the Napoleonic soldiers

To the right side of the cemetery, lies a chapel which mark the the spot when this town was taken from the Muslims in 1228

To the right side of the cemetery, lies a chapel which mark the the spot when this town was taken from the Muslims in 1228

Entrance of the British Cemetery in Elvas - this cemetery is located on the eastern wall of Fort Elvas and just below the castle

Entrance of the British Cemetery in Elvas - this cemetery is located on the eastern wall of Fort Elvas and just below the castle

This cemetery holds the graves of the thousands of British soldiers who died during the Battle of Albuera

This cemetery holds the graves of the thousands of British soldiers who died during the Battle of Albuera

A sign at the left side of the wall displays information about the battle

A sign at the left side of the wall displays information about the battle

La Albuera is a village inside Spain, this is where battle took place on 16 May 1811

La Albuera is a village inside Spain, this is where battle took place on 16 May 1811

Regimental plaques were hung on the walls of the cemetery in May 2000

Regimental plaques were hung on the walls of the cemetery in May 2000

These plaques are hung to commemorate the the British and Portuguese Regimentsthat fought in the Battle of Albuera and the Sieges of Badajoz

These plaques are hung to commemorate the the British and Portuguese Regimentsthat fought in the Battle of Albuera and the Sieges of Badajoz

It is said that almost 60,000 British men lost their lives in these battles, fought close to Elvas

It is said that almost 60,000 British men lost their lives in these battles, fought close to Elvas

The area surrounded by the railing contains the graves of Maj. Gen. Daniel Hoghton, Lt. Col. Daniel White, Lt. Col. James Ward Oliver, Maj. William Nicholas Bull and his wife Caroline

The area surrounded by the railing contains the graves of Maj. Gen. Daniel Hoghton, Lt. Col. Daniel White, Lt. Col. James Ward Oliver, Maj. William Nicholas Bull and his wife Caroline

The cemetery was rededicated in 1997 and is now maintained by the Friends of the British Cemetery

The cemetery was rededicated in 1997 and is now maintained by the Friends of the British Cemetery

In this cemetery, only five graves are known and marked but one is the sole marked grave of the thousands who fell in the three sieges of Badajoz

In this cemetery, only five graves are known and marked but one is the sole marked grave of the thousands who fell in the three sieges of Badajoz

This plaque on the wall shows the location of two battles fought in Badajoz and Albuera

This plaque on the wall shows the location of two battles fought in Badajoz and Albuera

Looking downwards from the British Cemetery - in the distance lies the town of Badajoz

Looking downwards from the British Cemetery - in the distance lies the town of Badajoz

One of the defensive walls of Elvas, in the background, the Castle of Elvas can be seen

One of the defensive walls of Elvas, in the background, the Castle of Elvas can be seen

Few benches are places inside the cemetery to honour the fallen soldiers

Few benches are places inside the cemetery to honour the fallen soldiers

There are few names wrriten on the plaques, attached to the benches

There are few names wrriten on the plaques, attached to the benches

I persume, these are the names of the soldiers who died in the battles

I persume, these are the names of the soldiers who died in the battles

Looking back at the rear of the chapel at the entrance of the cemetery

Looking back at the rear of the chapel at the entrance of the cemetery

Roof of the chapel founded by the Friars of St. Johnís Hospitallers

Roof of the chapel founded by the Friars of St. Johnís Hospitallers